The Museum of Caricature and Humor
This museum was inaugurated on Feb. 27, 1989 in the Ghazanfar aga Complex in Sarachaneba4i on Ataturk Blvd. at the end of Bazdogan Aqueduct. The complex was built in the late 16th century by Ghazanfar Aga, one of the Darassade agas.
The architect was Davut Aga. The complex contains a medressa and a water distribution kiosk. It was used as the Istanbul Municipality Museum front 1945-1988. After this museum moved to Yildiz, the building was repaired and reopened as the Museum of Caricature and Humor. Today it is managed together by the Caricature Society and the Istanbul Municipality. The museum has a rich collection in its archives, including more than 20,000 Turkish and foreign original caricatures. Each caricature has its own folder with information on its creator, its subject, and its country of origin. In addition to its function as a museum, the building is also used for various events. Two kinds of exhibitions are displayed.
First there is a permanent exhibition of Turkish caricature from its beginning up to the 1960's. Secondly, there are individual or group exhibitions to introduce the works of Turkish or foreign caricaturists. National and international jury competitions are held in the museum, at least once a month. in addition, panel discussions, talks, memorials, and video demonstrations arc presented. One of the most important sections is the section, which contains a rich collection of humor books and magazines published in Turkey and in the world. The workshop of the museum offers classes for printing techniques by an expert. Pen-sketching techniques and painting lessons are also given.
The museum is free of charge for entrance as well as attending the special events. It is open every day, except Sunday and Monday, from 9am-6pm.